Unconditional Love


What does it mean to you when you hear the words “I love you”?
What do you mean when you say those words to someone?
When did those words become nothing more than words?

We were all born with the gift of love but somewhere, somehow we grew to learn how to use this emotion or use those three words for manipulation, to gain trust, to play with and test.

They say we learn to hate but in some way I think we also learn to love how else would no the difference?
How else would we know how to love something or someone?
Sometimes it is instant like a child looking into his mums eyes for the very first time, sometimes it is learned over a period of time like falling for your first boyfriend/ girlfriend.

When I say I love someone I mean it forever. Even when the person changes I still love them and sometimes even if it is really unfortunate I can’t just “switch it off” like a light switch because that’s not how love for me personally works.

Loving my friends come easy because majority of the time the bring me joy, make me smile, laugh and they are so much fun to be around. If things change, we argue, fight or worse fall out it takes me a long time to let go because I made a promise with my heart to love them and I have always been sure that matters could be worked out especially if the love between the two friends are real and both want the same things.

Loving my family comes naturally because I was born out of love and into more love. Family love is unconditional love even when they can sometimes be the people who seem to hurt you the most it’s unconditional because you are bonded through blood and so many experiences. However just because it’s unconditional again I have to stress that I have learned it doesn’t always mean you can or will “get along” or be able to be “friends” with the the people you love even if it’s family.
Often I hear “I forgave him/her because he is family” what does that even mean? I prefer to admit “I forgave him/her because I love them”.

Loving my children is another emotion that came naturally and I can honestly and easily say that it is unconditional. It’s amazing to know they were made from the love me and my husband share, amazing to know they grew inside me and to know they will forever be apart of me. They could grow to hate me, cut me out but I will always be a part of them and them apart of me because of the maternal bond we share and because I will love them forever.
I never understood my own mothers unconditional love for me and my siblings until I had my own children and it’s such a wonderful feeling.

Loving my husband was almost instant, when I found him I found everything I was looking for in a partner in one night and nothing much really changed at least my love hasn’t changed. He is still that same person I fell in love with almost 12 years ago. The more I got to know him the more my love grew for him and his for me (I hope). I didn’t think it was possible, thought it was cliche but with every year that passes I love him even more, every waking moment I spend with him and our children our love just grows and because of everything he has given me, everything we have shared if we should part (universe forbid it) I know that in my heart I would still love him forever.

Some call me a hippie, some say I live in the clouds, and yes I’ve had my share of heartache from loving people so hard and long but is that really so bad?
Love has made me into someone I love, I can look myself in the mirror and be proud of who I am.
Love made me find love, love helped me maintain friendships that matter, love keeps my family together, love makes me strong, love makes me optimistic, gives me hope, makes me kind, love makes me free.

Now and forever before you say those three little words, before you can look in the mirror, before you make certain choices in your life; believe in love, say it with confidence, mean it, let it take you higher than high.

Love is forever people well for me it is. What about you?

2 thoughts on “Unconditional Love

  1. Love is beautiful and so is this post! I think anything that manipulates and degrades others is only masquerading as love. Love is patient, love is kind, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others.
    True love makes us vulnerable. I heard someone say once that a woman in love is like a flower in bloom – it makes us open and soft and inviting. That means we’re going to get hurt. I’d rather get hurt than not love.
    Been missing you in my reader lately!! Hope everything is happy in your family!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I feel exactly the same way. I’d rather love and have love than not, or be hurt etc. I can’t live without love.
      Aww I went quiet somewhere in December preparing for the Christmas madness at home lol it was fabulous and I had a little writers block leading up to the end of the year tbh eek. Everything is wonderful at home thank you even though I’m still like wow we are four now hehe.
      Since January started though i have post schedule posts that automatically post every Thursday this is the 2nd post the next is scheduled yet again to publish this Thursday (so happy reading) so maybe like me there’s so much in your reader you haven’t been able to scroll to mine? Lol. Hope you are also well. Haven’t caught up on your blog as yet, your posting a lot! Hehe. Good on you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

