You took something from me


You attempted to steal my heart and leave me with nothing there,
You stripped me bare and gave me your best icy stare.
You humiliated me and pushed me real low,
What you wanted to achieve I still don’t know.
I look at myself and don’t recognise what I see
You did this, you changed me.
I’m more closed off I hide things now, can’t trust even the most innocent looking of faces.
Can’t trust memories or places.
I’m scared of situations I cower away, ever since you showed me ugly that day.
I get confused about who I am sometimes. Am I me? Am I you? Who am I?
You took so much of my spirit and then tried to destroy my soul too,
All I wanted was to love you.
I have reoccurring nightmares about the good times and bad.
I want the psychiatrist to tell me that I am mad.
You carry on like nothing ever happened, your not fazed at all.
I envy the fact you can hide behind those walls.
You took a piece of me I can never get back.
I’m human sometimes I go off track.
Most days I’m happy, some days I’m sad then there’s rare occasions where I’m really bad.
I’m negotiating with a ghost, with someone I once knew but is now lost forever.
The mind is a funny thing it’s a long process working out this endeavour.
Once genuine love hid behind my smile now it’s just racing thoughts,
I want to show you compassion but somehow I keep coming up short.
You sat on my pedestal smiling away I’m getting closer to knocking you down, getting used to you not being around, sick of hearing your sound, no longer bound you can’t have any more of me.
Most days I’m happy, some days I’m sad then there’s rare occasions where I’m really bad. I’m not worried though I’m grateful that I still feel, can you honestly say the same?

Leave a Reply

