Finding balance in motherhood


Two children is twice as hard as one.
Obvious right?
Not to me.
I’ve cared for many children over the years including multiple at the same time. Although tiring but always fun, it came naturally and so easy for me.
The thing is childminding and caring for your own are very different. At the end of a long day or session you can give other children back to their parents when babysitting.
Well I have two children now and the difference is incredible as well as amazing.

image

I love spending time with my family so much that it’s often hard to physically and mentally pull myself away.
I can’t get enough of family time.

image

However I’ve always said I don’t want to be one of those women that become so consumed in family life they miss out on so much more.
It’s important to me to keep my relationships with my friends healthy by speaking to them or meeting up with them regularly.
I want to continue working hard to ensure all my business ventures become and remain a success.
When my kids are worn out for the day, the house is clean, the chores are done and my husband is satisfied with grub in his belly I want to be free to do whatever I want to do.
I am free. Then I look at my family and smile as my heart fills with so much love for them. I think to myself do I really need to be anything more than a mother and wife?
That’s were the conflict starts.
I don’t want to neglect my family for a cheap night out with friends. However I don’t want to lose that close bond with all my friends that have been there for me and have done so much…(and sometimes a cheap night out or in is just what we all need to solidify that bond).
I don’t want to immerse myself in so much work I’m too tired to play hide & seek or peek-a-boo.

image

I also don’t want to miss out on my friends growing and changing and having their own babies or fulfilling other chapters of their life.
Balance.
It’s all about balance and that’s what I’m trying to do. There’s only one of me and everyone expects so much.
My friends want their party girl, agony aunt and entertainer.
My family want “family time” which includes but doesn’t limit itself to; movies, day trips, games, cuddles (there’s lots of cuddles) etc.

image

I want it all.
Loosing myself to just one thing is a big no no!
Embracing life and all it has to offer is a big YES!

Leave a Reply

