Postpartum Body


My baby boy is almost 5 weeks old now and is thriving!
He is my little milk monster because he feeds like there’s no tomorrow although what does he know of tomorrow? All he knows is mummy smells like milk and he turns his head whenever I enter the room aka his world.

image

So he is happily content feeding 1-3 hours depending on the time of day, he has regular “explosive” nappies (that’s always funny, sad but you laugh at the silliest things when they are still so cute and small).
He smiles when I sing to him and makes funny faces and sometimes he just smiles ‘just because’ he is just happy like that so this makes me extremely happy.

Looking at my son and his perfectly formed face and body I smile proudly, knowing I carried him through a hard pregnancy and then long labour.

However as beautiful as he is I can’t help but look at my own body, now 5 weeks postpartum it looks and feels so different than before.

I regularly encourage and praise my friends on their good looks and bodies and tell them not to moan or complain but instead be happy and embrace what they have.

Looking at my new body I can’t help but frown.

image

Where had my once cute and pert ass gone? It wasn’t huge before but now it’s not existent it’s lost it’s muscle tone and I hate the way it looks in my usual tight clothes and my trademark hotpants.

image

Why don’t I fit my pre pregnancy clothes anymore? Everything feels so “wrong”.

When will I lose this ‘softness’ that is now my belly? I’ve never had nor do I want a six pack but my belly was a hell of a lot more toned before I got pregnant.

Furthermore why am I letting my own hatred and delusions tear me apart?

I have been told I look ‘great’, ‘fantastic’ even ‘sexy’ but for some reason it’s hard to register. It’s like I feel they feel obliged to say it (friends and family) or the strangers on the street are just being polite and the men…they just “thirsty” for everything and anything.

image

image

To add insult to injury. I’m ready for my first night out so naturally I decided to go shopping.
Is it me or are clothes getting smaller? I tried on various sizes starting from my pre-pregnancy shape and went up 3 sizes in order to find something that fit comfortably and looked decent. (H&M I officially boycott your stores with your tiny clothes!)

image

image

Although I don’t look terrible I just look different to what I’m used to. After having my first child I had to adjust to my new body shape for the first time. I eventually fell in love with it and myself all over again once I realised my delusions were just that…delusions.

The strangest thing is my body looks that of my 19 year old self when my husband and I first starting dating and although I was confident back at that age and comfortable with my body that was before I became a mum.

A lot of women are critical of themselves or one another because their shape looks and feels heavier than mine and I know a lot of women would love to ‘snap back’ into a shape like mine.

However they don’t realise fat or thin there’s still pressure to look a certain way. It’s sounds silly but sometimes I feel sad that I don’t look like a “stereotypical mummy”. People especially women or other mothers can’t see the scars of my pregnancy on the outside and so make comments and sneers even assumptions about my figure.

Some are jealous to the point they call me unhealthy looking. Some push for answers as to how I slimmed down so fast. Some even assume I didn’t eat throughout my pregnancy or eat now.

As a society we can be so unforgiving and can put so much pressure on one another we don’t always realise the effect we are actually having.

After agonising over every angle in the mirror, checking the scales and all the clothes label sizes I decided life is too short to worry about what size I was then or now.

image

I suddenly remembered for me personally it’s the inside that counts and is what makes me so fabulous from the inside out.

What fit me back then may look different now and so what?! It’s a great excuse for a new wardrobe or to customise my old pieces.

image

Love yourself ladies because your beautiful. Don’t like anyone make you feel you are less than perfect the way you are. Whatever your shape, size or figure embrace it and work it!
However if your size is due to a health issue please take care of it and address it because being healthy will always come before “looking good” xxx

I suddenly remembered for me personally it’s the inside that counts and is what makes me so fabulous from the inside out.

What fit me back then may look different now and so what?! It’s a great excuse for a new wardrobe or to customise my old pieces.

Love yourself ladies because your beautiful. Don’t like anyone make you feel you are less than perfect the way you are. Whatever your shape, size or figure embrace it and work it!
However if your size is due to a health issue please take care of it and address it because being healthy will always come before “looking good” xxx

7 thoughts on “Postpartum Body

  1. Yes they are delusions!! You look great, who would believe you just had a baby! People will always question those who have a fast metabolism, I wish I was in this category lol. I love the zig zag dress on you 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad you and Sean are doing well too!! I wondered why I haven’t seen you blog in a while, but I keep accidentally unfollowing people on my tablet smh

      Like

    • Thank you. I love DAT dress too but the back wouldn’t zip up -_- at that point I walked out the shop n gv up shopping lol.

      Like

      • haha, shopping is a problem for me. I try on a bunch of clothes and then give up after a while. I don’t know how people shop all the time! So do you have an outfit for your night out?

        Like

      • Yh I bought something but I’m not sure now lol so I’ve dug up some old favs and will choose last minute loool x

        Like

Leave a Reply

