If you wannabe my lover, you gotta get with my friend…


Daily post prompt

16 years ago The Spice Girls released their first no.1 hit single Wannabe!
I was in love with every single one of them. I wanted to be all of them all rolled into one! I would be known as the ultimate Spice Girl!

They made living through the hellish experience that was high school bearable. They made me believe in expressing myself freely, to not be afraid of how different I am and that maybe, just maybe it wasn’t a “mans world” after all.

Their posters covered every wall space and my ceiling too! When I ran out of space in my own room I would fly post them around my mother’s home much to her dismay.

That year I done extra chores, for extra pocket money so I could buy every spice girl memorabilia that I could afford.

I played their albums over and over again on full blast, much to my mothers annoyance but I didn’t care. They gave me life!

I wore platforms like them, bright colours, I converted people to become fans too!

I cried when Geri left, I was heartbroken. I grew really sad when they all disbanded soon after that.

When they reunited for a special tour 10 years after they first arrived on the scene I used my overdraft to buy a ticket straight away! By this time I didn’t know of any other fans that wanted to join me so I went alone and mingled with the other concert goers who sat, stood and danced beside me.

This was a special moment for me indeed. I couldn’t afford to go see them when I was a teenager, my mum didn’t have that kind of money back then.
They put on an excellent show despite having not performed together for 10 years and despite the fact they were all working mothers; it was like stepping back in time.

7 years on from that date and I still collect magazine articles and snippets of what the are up to lately. They all fascinate me. And unfortunately for my mother I still have memorabilia hogging her storage space in her home…I can’t help it I still love them as much as I did 16 years ago, I can honestly say they were my firsts love. Isn’t your first love be it a person, band or even pet still holding a special place in your heart?

Zig-a-zig-ahhhh

3 thoughts on “If you wannabe my lover, you gotta get with my friend…

  1. Sounds like you are a diehard fan! I didn’t have a favourite, my mum used to dress me in a lot of animal print like Mel B though. Kudos to you for going to the concert alone!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teen Age Idols of the Swinging Sixties | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

